The waiting game

I’ve been on the adoption adventure for a little while now, although by no means as long as so many out there. Back in the summer I first enquired, and September saw a flurry of activity as I filled in a first registration form, attended my initial one-day induction course, and then filled in a proper registration form (I’m not *entirely* clear on the difference to be honest). I think the second of these was my official “Go” into the assessment process, kicking off the initial round of references, doctor’s report and who knows what.

Since then I have been reading, talking, reading, er doing more reading and more talking, and er more reading. I had a medical – which was actually quite interesting (the GP seemed entertained by the experience too saying it was very old-fashioned and just like being back at medical school!).

But from outside it has now been quite a few months of silence. Apparently the medical report was held up (I eventually emailed to find out if the hold up was my fault …), I chased in early December and it went off (at least in theory) but then more radio silence. I decided not to chase too hard in the lead-up to Christmas but then today I emailed. Fingers crossed for some kind of response this week …

As I wrote before, I do know that the pressure is on for everyone in Children’s Services, and I don’t want to be a pest; equally neither do I want to slip down the list because I quietly end up in an in-tray of unallocated potential adopters who need progressing but not right now … Hopefully, accepting that everyone deserves indeed needs a break over Christmas, the machine will start cranking, however creakily into action very shortly.

I am telling myself that the delay is just that – the normal whirring of cogs and wheels – and not anything peculiar to me. I do hope that is right. I don’t think they know enough about me yet for it to be anything more but it is always too easy to speculate. I could definitely do with some progress now please – not having anyone to even contact (not having yet been assigned a Social Worker even) does make it a very discombobulating process and I would really like, above all, to feel part of something moving again.

Everyone warned about the waiting game. I wasn’t quite prepared, even so, for it to start so soon.

About Pedalling Solo

I am a potential adopter in the UK, going it alone as they say. Somehow I've worked my way through lots of paperwork, done lots of learning, become an approved adopter, and navigated matching (hopefully). I am very much learning as I go. This blog is my opportunity to share my learning and experiences and maybe some random musings as I go along as well.
This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

