The #SinglePotentialAdoptersGang

The last hour or so has been just great. I’ve been chatting.

Yep, that’s it. Chatting. Online.

Via Twitter and a bit of blog-surfing I seem to have recently met some amazing adopters and some wonderful people who are going through the same turbulent, amazing, frustrating, promising, scary, exciting, inspiring journey as I am. In particular there seem to be a little gang of us who are all single potential adopters towards the end of Stage 1 or just into Stage 2. And this evening four of us were online all at the same time and sharing thoughts and updates (and crucially, views on chocolate; obviously).

Twitter has already shown itself, in the past few weeks, to be the host and facilitator for an amazing community. I have felt welcomed and smiled upon and grinned at and supported, in particular by experienced adopters who are many many years ahead of me and full of wisdom, experience and genuine understanding (or maybe just bear the scars of lived reality!). The generosity and warmth I have experienced has been really humbling.

To add to that general sense of comradeship the immediacy of meeting such lovely people going through exactly what I am (well ok, not exactly, possibly not even that close, but hey, you know what I mean!) is just amazing.

I am indeed privileged.

The wider gang, you are all great. Thank you. I know I owe you already too much. But this post is particularly dedicated to this evening’s lovely bunch of folk in our exciting new #SinglePotentialAdoptersGang (or maybe that’d better be #SPAgang for short?): so that’s a big shout out to @kayakclaire, @adoptmountain and @singleadopter!

Anyone else want to join? I’ve never really been in a gang before!

About Pedalling Solo

I am a potential adopter in the UK, going it alone as they say. Somehow I've worked my way through lots of paperwork, done lots of learning, become an approved adopter, and navigated matching (hopefully). I am very much learning as I go. This blog is my opportunity to share my learning and experiences and maybe some random musings as I go along as well.
This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The #SinglePotentialAdoptersGang

  1. montyla says:

    Reblogged this on Another Mountain and commented:
    A lovely post by my new Twitter friend @PedallingSolo If you’re a single adopter, come and join our gang!

  2. Sounds like a fun gang! When you all are finished with the ‘potential’ part and into the ‘actual’ part, please can I come play too?! 🙂

    • Oooh, one day we might be part of a #SingleActualAdoptersGang or #SAAGang! That’s exciting and scary! We’ve already got an associate member so maybe you could be an associate member too – the main thing is simply that you’re so far ahead and we’re still so much in the learning and hoping stage!

Leave a Reply

