Blogger navel-gazing: brevity or stories as they come?

Over the last few days I’ve been pondering about this blog and how I can make it better. You know while pulling the duvet over my head rather than getting up. Or surfing the internet. Or just staring into space. It helps me feel I’m doing something constructive at those times.

Somehow, between the bouts of procrastination, I’ve also done a bit of writing. This has now become my earlier post, a rather lengthy telling of my visit (accompanied by my mother) to a regional Exchange Day. I started writing the story I wanted to tell and … well telling the story took a while. I guess looking back through my posts one might draw the conclusion that brevity is not one of my strengths.

So back to my ponderings; as a relatively new blogger I’d be interested to know: is brevity essential? Or do you prefer a good read that tells a proper story? Are you interested in knowing feelings and thoughts and impressions? Or do you just like to know what happened? Is a bit of humour handy or irritating?

I’d also be interested to know whether those of you who read this blog like the fact I’ve kept it fairly (though not entirely) focused on adoption and my adoption journey? Would it be good to explore other things as well, adoption-related or indeed entirely unrelated? Should I muse widely or narrowly in my posts – or just stick to talking about my experiences going through the adoption process? Should I – scary stuff – explore how things like “categories” work to help people find posts relevant for them?

Or perhaps I should stop scrutinising my own blogging navel and just get on with it! Do you *like* this kind of interrogative post or is it just annoying? Will you ignore it entirely … or will I suddenly be on the receiving end of more advice and comment than ever before?

Or will the fact it is (relatively!) short prove to be the deciding factor in whether it is liked or commented on, thus proving that brevity does matter most after all?

About Pedalling Solo

I am a potential adopter in the UK, going it alone as they say. Somehow I've worked my way through lots of paperwork, done lots of learning, become an approved adopter, and navigated matching (hopefully). I am very much learning as I go. This blog is my opportunity to share my learning and experiences and maybe some random musings as I go along as well.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Blogger navel-gazing: brevity or stories as they come?

  1. This post made me giggle 🙂 I, too, navel gaze a lot over the blogging! Personally I don’t mind reading a longer post if it’s engagingly-written and actually saying something. I’ve read advice on copywriting for the internet that suggested short is better, no paragraphs longer than 3 lines, etc. because people’s attention drifts. But I think with a niche blog and niche community like ours, it’s more about creating a relationship, following a journey, sharing and comparing experiences so people are more likely to stick with and enjoy a longer post (or maybe I’m biased because I’m so verbose myself!!).
    As for writing about different things, well, I’d just go with the flow. I started my blog with the intention of writing about the processes but in the end I have hardly written anything about that!

    • I think you’re probably right. I’m going to have a stab at doing some “blog housekeeping” over the weekend. Maybe. Well unless I procrastinate successfully instead, obviously … 😉

  2. 2outofthree says:

    I agree with most of the above, especially about the relationship. I like getting to know the whole person. I’ll read anything so long as it’s engaging and, ideally for me, has a bit of humour thrown in once in a while. I don’t mean jokes, just a touch of irony for example.
    But I do tend to skim read if I can see the post fills the screen. If it’s really long, I scan for interesting words and just read those bits. I’m trying to keep my own blog posts, or at least paragraphs, but I also lean towards incredible verbosity. At university I spent far too much time reducing the word count once the piece of work was complete.
    Either way, just keep writing!
    I would love some technical tips personally. I’ve so far figured out how to write, make it bold, italicise, and stick a photo in. And I’ve added tags. Is there more? 😉

    • It’s a blog not deep research so I’d have thought skimming seems perfectly reasonable!

      I’ll have a think re the tips but I’m no expert and I guess it varies so much depending which blogging platform you use…

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  3. Judith Land says:

    Good question. Readers judge a blog to be of high literary value when they can recognize an interesting life, and are nourished by the journey, bringing along many of their own quests and associations of their own. Highlighting individuals that have reasons for their actions, who are distinguished, alluring, and realistic, that the reader wants to know more about are like moths attracted to a light when the theme is profound and the setting, time, and place easy to imagine. A good blog imperatively requires the reader to experience a shift in understanding of life’s trajectory.

  4. I’ve often wondered about the length of my posts. I tend to go long. I’m not offended if people don’t ready every line. I do a lot of skimming and over time I’ve become drawn to certain bloggers who give details that resonate with me. Some of those posts are short, others really long. I write when I have something to say and I want to say it in its entirety. I guess I also write for me, and less for my audience. I’m long winded. 🙂 I’m ok with that.

    • Sorry re tardy response but I did like your comment! I seem to go in phases re blogging at all, but if I”m going to blog it seems that I am going to go on about it as well! 🙂

  5. stickleberry says:

    Who knows? I just get a hunch that I ‘like’ someone – the content (definitely with humour) and the style (i like pictures and am a bit of a font snob!). I agree if they’re too long I skim too but if they seem absolutely brilliant on a skim I might go back and re-read. I like you anyway. Keep it up biker lady!

Leave a Reply

