Pedalling free

My poor bike has been leaning in its corner, disregarded and no doubt disgruntled, for some time. I ventured out a few weeks ago on a trip to a town about 15 miles away to meet friends. Three miles down the road, after a rather impressive loud bang brought me to a sudden halt, I turned and started the trek home. Having deposited the poor thing in its corner I grabbed car keys and ran out the door. When I got home I told myself firmly I should mend the puncture the very next day. Since when I have averted my gaze often, and made similar unkept stern promises.

Today however something changed. Spanners and levers out, wheel off, new inner tube inserted, tyre back on. Happy bike!

And then even more amazingly the clouds drew back, the steady sound of raindrops receded, and there were shadows glittering alongside the wed patio in the garden. It was a sign.

So now I type feeling chilled and mellow, for I have been out and pedalling. I went only a very few miles; and as ever when I’ve been poor about my exercise I can feel it more than I should. But I have been out and I have pedalled, solo and mellow and free.

 

 

 

About Pedalling Solo

I am a potential adopter in the UK, going it alone as they say. Somehow I've worked my way through lots of paperwork, done lots of learning, become an approved adopter, and navigated matching (hopefully). I am very much learning as I go. This blog is my opportunity to share my learning and experiences and maybe some random musings as I go along as well.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

