Approved!

I have previously written of my Approval Panel – a happy, odd, good occasion, shared with my lovely amazing mother (and my thoughtful and supportive Social Worker too).

Spotting, opening and reading the notification from the Agency Decision Maker (ADM) a few days later had a totally different feel.

I actually knew the ADM had approved me already. I’d listened to a voicemail left within the required 24 hours because (as is normal where I live) I had no reception. I’d smiled so broadly the friend I happened to be with – who knew the message I was awaiting – had guessed my news before I even came off the phone. I’d told family and friends too, and shared in the excitement and the happiness. Good times.

Yet receiving the letter was still a little bit different.

I was coming back from I know not where, just in through the front door, house keys in hand. I skilfully slinked around my bike – the obstacle which hogs much of my porch and which no doubt I will need to find a new home for soon – and reached over it to pick up the letter lying on the floor, realisation dawning as I did so as to its probable contents. A break in time began, a few micro-seconds I am sure, that nonetheless felt like an age. An envelope opened, a quick scan of the formal template letter inside – and then a brief pause in reality as I hugged myself and treasured a future that suddenly had cleaner lines and stronger definition.

My hopes and dreams were going to be. I was going to be granted that huge amazing privilege.

I was going to be a Mummy.

About Pedalling Solo

I am a potential adopter in the UK, going it alone as they say. Somehow I've worked my way through lots of paperwork, done lots of learning, become an approved adopter, and navigated matching (hopefully). I am very much learning as I go. This blog is my opportunity to share my learning and experiences and maybe some random musings as I go along as well.
This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Approved!

  1. Al Coates says:

    Good post, well written.

Leave a Reply

