Page 3 of The Sun: Why oh why oh why oh why?

Advance warning: this is NOT a post about adoption. This post is a rant. (Yes, I’ll keep it short. We could all do with some light relief after my last two blogs, me included!)

So there am I, sitting on a train, minding my own business, next to the aisle. I’ve navigated the car park, made it onto the platform and the train, found a seat, worked out how to pay for my parking by downloading an app on my phone, and sent a couple of emails. Now I’m sitting staring into space, thinking ahead to my day, or probably if the truth be told thinking about very little at all.

Gradually I realise that I am actually staring directly at a fairly large picture of a naked woman. Yes, the seat diagonally across and just in front of mine is occupied by a man who at that precise moment is apparently “reading” a page that is mostly a picture. Of a woman. Wearing no clothes. (I do know, by the way, that it is “only” a topless picture. That isn’t what it appears from my angle though, with only the top half of the page really visible.)

Why? Why oh why oh why oh why? In what world is this ok?

Yes, I realise I perhaps should have said something. On some occasions I might have done: today I had spent an insomniac night and was looking ahead to a challenging day and somehow the energy wasn’t there. But many hours later and still my annoyance lingers to the extent I feel the need to rant.

We are in 2014.

2014.

And we still have page 3.

Why oh why oh why oh why?

(Incidentally, if this rant happened to have you nodding along, if you too feel a mixture of amazement, embarrassment and despair that still, in 2014, we have the wonders of Page 3 (and of course you haven’t signed their petition etc already!) … please do take a look at the No More Page 3 campaign.)

About Pedalling Solo

I am a potential adopter in the UK, going it alone as they say. Somehow I've worked my way through lots of paperwork, done lots of learning, become an approved adopter, and navigated matching (hopefully). I am very much learning as I go. This blog is my opportunity to share my learning and experiences and maybe some random musings as I go along as well.
This entry was posted in Life in all its many colours and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Page 3 of The Sun: Why oh why oh why oh why?

  1. feminisminhd says:

    The No More Page 3 team have recently revealed that they are going to try and get to Christmas no.1 in the uk. Very exciting!

Leave a Reply

