Patience

Patience.

I know patience is often described as a virtue. I wonder if that is simply because it is so difficult.

Situations that are particularly relevant to us always heighten our sensitivity to related sights and sounds. Maybe I’m in a place similar to that experienced by women who are trying to conceive and feel as if they only see pregnant women wherever they go. With National Adoption Week all around us last week, and then today’s coverage of the placement order statistics (news confirming what many of us had already understood to be the case), it feels as if just as my own situation becomes particularly quiet adoption issues have assumed central stage in the national news agenda.

I am working on my patience, I really am.

My Social Worker has been away for a few days: she’s entitled to annual leave, I can hardly complain about that! Nevertheless, an inevitable corollary is the further reduction in the potential for any progress, however small.

Generally I think I am quite successful in replying positively and with a smile to the daily cautious questions of “any news?” and “have you heard anything recently”, explaining that no, there’s nothing to report just now, but it’s ok i wasn’t really expecting to hear anything, indeed there might not be any news for a while … I even joke that it’s good for me; I can never strengthen my patience muscles enough,

Underneath I sigh. I suspect my patience muscles may always benefit from additional exercise.

I do know that this is how it is and even, leaving aside the workload pressures on everyone involved, and the stresses of “the system”, that the adoption process needs to be this way: matching takes the time it takes. I know that ironically my jokey answers are actually the right ones too – it truly is important I learn to be as patient as possible.

I know these things, and one day I trust my time will come.

Until then … I will be patient.

About Pedalling Solo

I am a potential adopter in the UK, going it alone as they say. Somehow I've worked my way through lots of paperwork, done lots of learning, become an approved adopter, and navigated matching (hopefully). I am very much learning as I go. This blog is my opportunity to share my learning and experiences and maybe some random musings as I go along as well.
This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Patience

  1. graceevans68 says:

    Feel for you. Waiting for matching does bring with it it’s own special brand of helplessness. x

  2. Pingback: In which I note, again, quite how much I have to learn … | Pedalling Solo

Leave a Reply

