Motherhood and Apple Pie

As I type, hidden away in my bedroom, the rest of my house is dark.

In nearly every room different members of my family are sleeping – or preparing for sleep, hiding away, maybe writing their own blogs or life stories, I know not.

It is a peaceful, comforting, warm end to a long, hard, emotional week.

Earlier today I texted a friend. I was worried – her day had the potential to be challenging and I was edgy, wondering if she was ok. A text came back in: she was feeling good, nearly home from her day out. How was I doing she asked in return? What was I up to? I smiled to myself, and shared that my adventurous afternoon had mostly been about vacuuming while my mother had also arrived and was peeling windfall apples from her garden, brought with her for making apple pie.

About to press send I realised what I’d typed. I sent the text anyway, entering the world of cliche happily.

Just at that moment, I could not have been more content to be in every way in that world of motherhood and apple pie. It was good. My Mum and I were tidying and cooking (I was lucky enough not to be in work). Soon, we knew, more of my family were due; just then they would be tumbling out of work, checking traffic, heading down to join us.

Everyone arrived. We cooked: simple easy food – sausages, mashed potatoes, vegetables and white sauce; followed of course by Mum’s apple pie.

At the end of a long hard week, a week when I have been reminded yet again how much I love my amazing family, what could be better than this?

Sharing dinner, being together, knowing you are among family and all is good with the world: there’s a lot to be said for motherhood and apple pie.

About Pedalling Solo

I am a potential adopter in the UK, going it alone as they say. Somehow I've worked my way through lots of paperwork, done lots of learning, become an approved adopter, and navigated matching (hopefully). I am very much learning as I go. This blog is my opportunity to share my learning and experiences and maybe some random musings as I go along as well.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

