Time for a half-way review: #NaBloPoMo Day 15

It’s #NaBloPoMo day 15: time for a half-way review.

So far I have kept it up, this challenge to blog every day for a month. It hasn’t always been easy though: I regularly find myself writing up to the deadline of midnight, determined to write as well as I can despite often feeling my resources of creativity and imagination are limited.

But I have also been pleased with the experience. I seem to have reached new readers I haven’t met before. I’ve broadened the scope of my blog … and as a result also had to think about whether that is the right thing to do or not. I enjoy writing: pushing myself so I write every day is sometimes annoying (not least when I have visitors for example) but ultimately a good thing.

I know already I am unlikely to continue with the discipline of daily blogging once the month is over. However I am already thinking ahead with ideas for pieces I would like to write about but which require a bit more thought and processing than the daily deadline easily permits.

It has been a difficult couple of weeks. Inevitably there have been times when the added complication of needing to form an idea, to draft a piece, to try and make sure what I write might at least be of interest to someone has seemed an extra hassle too far. I’m sure some of my pieces under normal circumstances I would have been deemed too slight, too bland, too uninspired to see the light of day.

But then that’s where you learn too: sometimes I am surprised – as all of us who blog I suspect can find, the long meaningful, carefully crafted post is often ignored for the random one we weren’t even sure was humorous!

But overall the experience so far has been good and has both encouraged me to write about some of my challenges, while also providing mental distance and refuge from some of the challenges of normal living.

As far as I know – I ‘fess up to minimal research here – #NaBloPoMo is run under the auspices of various blogging sites, most notably BlogHer.com. I’ve seen it written that November is the main month but you can do it in any month you choose. I’ll be honest, I’m doing it mostly for myself though I have done a little looking around too. I should probably look around more; maybe tomorrow … Maybe even I’ll belatedly see if I can sign up somewhere (yep we’re back to the time thing again!).

But for now the succinct version of my half-time review: yes I’m glad I’m doing it; yes I’ll do my best to carry on; yes I think it is good discipline for me.

These last words are for any of you though, anyone still reading: thank you for your time, your interest, your involvement; and for your involvement too. I’ve enjoyed writing; I hope you’ve enjoyed reading.

Here’s to the second half of #NaBloPoMo!

About Pedalling Solo

I am a potential adopter in the UK, going it alone as they say. Somehow I've worked my way through lots of paperwork, done lots of learning, become an approved adopter, and navigated matching (hopefully). I am very much learning as I go. This blog is my opportunity to share my learning and experiences and maybe some random musings as I go along as well.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

