How fantastic is Twitter?

How fantastic is Twitter?

The discussion started with a simply question: was War Horse, yesterday’s BBC1 viewing, going to end really sadly? (The consensus response – a clear yes in case anyone still needs to know!). During the chat, someone cross-referenced bits of the story to things that had come up at the Adoption UK Conference the day before around how the sensory parts of the brain work. Expertise then shone forth from various other contributors, sharing their knowledge of the huge impact that sensory issues can have for adoptees (especially in terms of regulation and soothing) and commenting on how common they can be too. Finally, following a question from me as to how I could find out more (I noted that I couldn’t remember any of this coming up in my adoption preparation training), recommendations for introductory further reading and a relevant website were immediately volunteered.

From one evening’s TV to expert and thoughtful advice and guidance for a newbie adopter in little over an hour – with a good dose of humour and friendship along the way.

How fantastic is Twitter?

(With particular thanks for this post, and for their support for a newbie to all this stuff, to @suddenly_mummy, @hopefulmummyuk, @wonkywarrior & @fiveplusmore!)

About Pedalling Solo

I am a potential adopter in the UK, going it alone as they say. Somehow I've worked my way through lots of paperwork, done lots of learning, become an approved adopter, and navigated matching (hopefully). I am very much learning as I go. This blog is my opportunity to share my learning and experiences and maybe some random musings as I go along as well.
This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

